From the humble beginning of baking magic “love mud-pies” in my childhood street and talking to invisible friends, my interest in all things spiritual and magical has grown into a sincere and almost grown-up life path. I am currently writing my first book, detailing my personal journey as an Indigo adult and have recently launched SprIndigo, a blog providing spiritual inspiration articles for the Indigo soul. The many lessons I have learnt in life have also given me the confidence to undertake hypnotherapy and NLP training so that I can one day fulfill my goal of providing personal development and self-love workshops for my local community.

Tell us about a deep soul connection that you’ve experienced.

JoI find the journey back to your Self is always the deepest connection. I have not always been my best friend. A challenging childhood left many impressions on my soul to help detach me from self-love and my growth into adulthood has been laden with lessons all bringing me back to me.

Like most people experiencing low self-esteem and levels of self-love, I searched for acceptance and love outside of myself for years. I wanted to find my perfect soulmate to make all of my problems go away. Suffice to say, the Creative wouldn’t allow me to skip the important lesson of self acceptance and my quest for my soulmate lead me full circle.

I would love to tell stories of deep connections with wonderful people from all over the world, but my most important lesson has been a more intimate one. Before I could embrace others, I needed to learn to embrace myself. I remember crying the first time I actually turned my awareness inwards and paid attention to my own heart first.

When do you feel your most soulful? Whenever I have the privilege of meeting the diverse mix of people this Earth has to offer and listen to their stories I feel deeply moved. It reminds me that we are all connected; we are all part of the human race. When I hear people’s stories of surviving hardships and simple acts of love towards one another it gives me hope that we can all work together to make a better future for ourselves and our planet. Being around open-hearted people, who are just living their lives the best way they can renews my faith in life and my soul simply glows from the experience.

Where have you felt the most in touch with your own soul? I am fortunate enough to live in the beautiful Devon countryside of the United Kingdom. The farm I live on is surrounded by green fields and I am never far away from bird song, squirrels and trees. The countryside is where my heart is and my soul always feels at peace in this environment. I believe the simplicity is what makes this place special to me. I am happiest when I walk to my local store down a quiet hazel and oak lined lane, which backs onto fields containing my neighbour’s horses. I love passing the squirrels leaping back and forth from the highest branches of the trees, admiring the way the sunlight shines through the trees and taking a moment to listen to the robins perched lower down, chirping about their day. Each small piece of beauty on this walk reminds me I am alive, the world is beautiful and there is much love worth fighting for. There may not be imposing mountains, impressive waterfalls and ancient ruins to stand in awe of, but it is home.

What qualities do you feel a soulful relationship has?

It’s funny that my answer to this question would have been quite different a couple of years ago. If you would have looked at my “bucket list” of things I wanted in my perfect partner you would have read something like this: tall, dark hair, successful business man, intelligent, a lot like Mr. Darcy, brooding — a romance worthy of a movie.

The saying, “be careful what you wish for” is true in this case. I met several of these dashing, tall, dark-haired intelligent men and I fell hopelessly in love with each one. The trouble was; they were not ideal for me. The intelligence was arrogance, the success was unavailability and the Mr. Darcy attributes were not as much fun in real life as they are in a book.

I had never really thought about why I was going after this type of man who would always end up making me feel patronised and resentful. I started to read lots of books on love and that’s when I stumbled upon The Soulmate Experience.

After the first few chapters I was hooked. I came to realise that I was blocking my soulmate from manifesting by projecting my own beliefs about “not being good enough” onto my opinion of the perfect man — this Mr. Darcy stereotype. After reading the book, I understood I needed to do a lot of inner work and I also came to see the qualities discussed in the book: acceptance, mutual growth, unconditional love and “presence” to be qualities I really wanted from a relationship.

What do you feel your soul’s purpose is?

Just recently I have ended my lifelong marathon away from my true purpose and have entered into acceptance of it. I have had my finger in quite a lot of spiritual pies and systems of divination over the years; karmic astrology, numerology, soul contracting and other methods for helping you to realise your true life path. I was desperate to be told what my soul’s purpose was, but I didn’t like the answers I was getting.

JoTime after time, no matter what the system, I would receive the same insights into my life purpose: communication, spiritual teacher, leader, writing, expression, service, love. I didn’t really like that idea of being a spiritual teacher who had to be of service to others, I didn’t feel confident enough to write and I certainly didn’t have much love for people after a particularly difficult childhood. I turned my back on the clues to my soul’s purpose, each time I received them.

One night, I had a dream that gave me the wake-up call I needed. I dreamt of a spirit yelling at me that I was not a musician, actress, singer and all the other ideas of career I had been mulling around in my head at the time. The spirit turned to a wall that showed a timeline of spiritual teachers and prophets over the centuries. He said very clearly to me, “Your job is to be of service, find them and remind them of who they are”. The spirit then told me my secret spiritual name and I woke up with a start.

Since then, I have come to realise that it is my purpose to write about spiritual topics and to inspire light workers to accept themselves as I have learnt to do. I might only be a small acorn on the beginning of my journey so far, but I know I am fully supported to one day become a mighty oak tree!

Is there anything else you’d like to share with us?

For readers of The Soulmate Experience or those wondering if they should read the book, I would like to share that the techniques and practical guidance contained in its pages have helped me to not only see myself differently and realise the true qualities of a healthy relationship, but it has also helped me to improve my friendships and connections with people in general.

Before releasing a lot of my emotional baggage, I had been struggling even in friendships to control my feelings of jealousy and I would frequently get mad at friends if I felt they had not met an expectation I had of them. Through reading Mali and Joe’s wonderful book, I am learning to do things differently and recognise when my own negative self beliefs are affecting the way I treat others. If, like me, you are still waiting for your romantic soulmate, use this time to prepare yourself for great love and to improve the connections you do have in your life by reading this book!

Thank you for your beautiful expression of the power of self-love, dear Jo! (And it feels so perfect that “Jo” means “sweetheart”…) ~Mali & Joe, authors of The Soulmate Experience: A Practical Guide to Creating Extraordinary Relationships52 Prescriptions for Happiness, and the upcoming book The Soulmate Lover, and creators of Mantras for Making Love